Mecha Build – Patlabor Helldiver

1/35 スケールパトレイバーヘルダイバー。ソフビキット、カイヨドから。

 

Just finished a must have kit that I never knew existed. A 1/35 scale Helldiver, soft vinyl kit from Kaiyodo. Featured in the Japanese animation “Mobile Police Patlabor”.

 
Patlabor Helldiver-A
 

I call this a must have kit, because about 15 years ago, Bandai released Units 1, 2, and 3 of the Patlabor Ingrams, plus a water and air version of the Griffon in 1/35 scale. “Great!” I thought, “I can make a killer military diorama once the Helldiver comes out!” So, of course, Bandai soon discontinued the MG Patlabor line right after the Griffon.

 
Patlabor Helldiver-B
 

Well, fast forward to a few years back, and I’m browsing Mandarake, when I come across this little gem. Hot damn, a 1/35 scale Helldiver does exist! Unfortunately, the pose is too aggressive for the diorama I had in mind (plus, I don’t have the space for one now), but I’m still glad I’ve got it in my collection.

 
Patlabor Helldiver-D
 
Patlabor Helldiver-E

Kit was finished on August 7th, 2016.

Published by

Jefuemon

Live in Japan. Like Macross, building models, and heavy metal, among others.

Leave a Reply

